“The important thing

is to leave the wine in peace”

 

The spirit

Clos Rougeard was established in the 17th century, on the lands of Chacé, a village not far from Saumur. The Foucault brothers, Charly (Jean-Louis, who died in 2015) and Nady (Bernard), were the last of eight generations of the family. They were pioneers of organic viticulture from the outset, refusing to yield to the temptations of chemical substances and gradually inspiring other winemakers.

Since 2017, the Bouygues family has owned this mysterious estate and its legendary wines, true jewels of the Saumur-Champigny appellation. Today, the estate has found new balance thanks to Richard, a passionate winegrower, and Jacques-Antoine, a craftsman of fine wines. They both work with the team to perpetuate the excellence and uniqueness of wines with unparalleled depth, finesse and precision.

The secret

At Clos Rougeard, time is the master. It alone gives the vines and the wines the freedom to develop.

An unspoilt terroir

The 11-hectare vineyard, spread over 20 plots, lies mainly on clay and limestone soil. At the heart of this eco-friendly terroir with its abundant microfauna and microflora grow the purest grapes, produced organically for eight generations. The quality of the estate’s very old vines bears testimony to this: some of them are a hundred years old, and have never received chemical inputs.

A legacy of know-how

At Clos Rougeard, the wines develop and mature with time. They gain their excellence, finesse and depth by being left to age in barrels for more than two years, followed by several years maturing in the depths of the tufa cellars, seven metres underground.

The wines

In keeping with traditional methods, Clos Rougeard wines are made with minimal intervention. The three red wines, under the Saumur-Champigny appellation, are made from Cabernet Franc, and the white wine, under the Saumur appellation, is made from Chenin; these are the Loire valley’s two emblematic grape varieties.

Le Clos - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Le Clos

The Saumur-Champigny is crafted from a blend of grapes from several clay and limestone plots, and some that are sandier. This wine typically preserves the crisp fruitiness of the Cabernet Franc with hints of floral notes.

Le Bourg - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Le Bourg

Le Bourg comes from a plot of very old vines in the centre of the village of Chacé, where the terroir is predominantly limestone with a deep clay subsoil. This wine offers very ripe fruit with highly characteristic fiery notes.

Les Poyeux - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Les Poyeux

Les Poyeux comes from a nearly 2-hectare plot of the same name, on a gentle slope with a clay and limestone soil mixed with windblown sands. A universally popular and feminine wine, with notes of vanilla and dry spices.

Brézé - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Brézé

Brézé, a white wine, is made with grapes from the finest limestone terroir in Brézé and the Saumur appellation. The aromatic range of Chenin is brought out with two separate harvests, allowing a balanced blend of almost saline freshness and beautifully ripe fruit.

Address : 14 Allée des Tilleuls, 49400 Bellevigne-les-Châteaux
Phone : +33 (0)2 41 52 92 65

Message sent

Thank you for contact us. We will be back to you as soon as possible.

Une erreur est survenue

Veuillez réessayer.

“L’important est de
laisser le vin tranquille”

 

L’esprit

Au XVIIème siècle, le Clos Rougeard naît sur les terres de Chacé, un village établi non loin de Saumur. Les « frères Foucault », Charly (Jean-Louis, décédé en 2015) et Nady (Bernard), ont incarné la dernière des huit générations de la famille. Ils ont été pionniers de l’agriculture biologique dès le début, refusant de céder aux sirènes des produits de synthèse et inspirant ainsi progressivement d’autres vignerons.

Depuis 2017, la famille Bouygues est propriétaire de ce domaine impénétrable et de ces vins mythiques, véritables joyaux implantés en Saumur-Champigny. Aujourd’hui, le domaine trouve son équilibre grâce à Richard, le passionné des vignes, et Jacques-Antoine, l’artisan des vins. Un duo qui, avec l’équipe, œuvre à perpétuer l’excellence et la singularité des crus dont la profondeur, la finesse et la précision sont sans égal.

Le secret

Au Clos Rougeard, le temps est le maître des lieux. Lui seul laisse aux vignes et aux vins la liberté de se révéler.

Un terroir préservé

Son vignoble de 11 hectares, réparti sur 20 parcelles, s’étend principalement sur des sols d’argile et de calcaire. Au cœur de ce terroir, si respectueux de sa microfaune et de sa microflore, s’expriment les plus purs raisins, produits en agriculture biologique depuis huit générations. En témoigne la qualité de ses très vieilles vignes, certaines âgées d’une centaine d’années, qui n’ont jamais vu le moindre produit chimique.

Un savoir-faire perpétué

Au Clos Rougeard, les vins évoluent et s’affinent avec le temps. L’excellence, la finesse et la profondeur de ces vins sont procurées par un élevage de plus de deux ans en barrique et d’un vieillissement à maturité de plusieurs années au cœur des caves de tuffeau, à sept mètres de profondeur.

Les cuvées

Dans la continuité des traditions, les vins du Clos Rougeard sont élaborés sans presque aucune intervention. Les trois cuvées en rouge, en appellation Saumur-Champigny, sont issues de Cabernet franc, et la cuvée en blanc, en appellation Saumur, est issue de Chenin, les deux cépages emblématiques de la Loire.

Le Clos - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Le Clos

Le Saumur-Champigny est issu d’un assemblage de plusieurs parcelles argilo-calcaire et de parcelles à influence sabloneuse. Depuis toujours, ce vin préserve le croquant du fruit du cabernet franc et éveille des notes florales.

Les Poyeux - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Les Poyeux

« Les Poyeux » est issu de la parcelle éponyme de près de deux hectares, en pente douce, avec un sol argilo-calcaire mêlé de sables éoliens. Une cuvée consensuelle et féminine, aux notes de vanille et d’épices sèches.

Le Bourg - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Le Bourg

« Le Bourg » est issu d’une parcelle de très vieilles vignes au cœur du village de Chacé, où le terroir est à dominante calcaire avec des argiles profondes. Ce vin nous révèle un fruit très mûr accompagné de notes de feu très caractéristiques.

Brézé - Clos Rougeard Brézé - Clos Rougeard

Brézé

« Brézé » est issu du plus beau terroir calcaire de Brézé et de l’appellation Saumur, en blanc. La richesse aromatique du Chenin est révélée grâce à deux vendanges distinctes permettant un assemblage d’équilibre entre fraîcheur presque saline et fruit bien mûr.

Address : 14 Allée des Tilleuls, 49400 Bellevigne-les-Châteaux
Phone : +33 (0)2 41 52 92 65

© Clos Rougeard 2021 | Mentions Légales | Conception et Réalisation SOWINE
Votre message a bien été transmis

Merci de votre message. Nous vous recontacterons rapidement.

Une erreur est survenue

Veuillez réessayer.